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FINAL
ORDER

1800 Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Examiners

After due notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on
January 14, 2025 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and
Refrigeration Examiners ("Board") to receive comments regarding proposed amendments to the Board's rules and
regulations.

The proposed amendments consist of changes to regulation subsection 3.1.2.2.3 clarifying that an individual pursuing a
restricted HVACR license needs only to pass the bypass exam sections relevant to the restriction. The proposed
amendments to subsection 5.0 further clarify the continuing education requirements that take effect for the 2026 renewal.
The other proposed amendments reflect technical and style changes consistent with the Delaware Administrative Code
Drafting and Style Manual.

The proposed changes to the rules and regulations were published in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 28,
Issue 3 on September 1, 2024, contemplating an October 8, 2024 public hearing. On November 1, 2024 in Volume 28,
Issue 5 of the Delaware Register of Regulations, public notice was given that the public hearing had been rescheduled to
be held on January 14, 2025 at 8:30 a.m. Notice of the January 14, 2025 hearing was also published in the News Journal
(Exhibit 1) and the Delaware State News (Exhibit 2). Pursuant to 29 Del.C. § 10118(a), the date to receive final written
comments was January 29, 2025, 15 days following the public hearing. The Board deliberated on the proposed revisions at
its regularly scheduled meeting on February 11, 2025.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted
The following exhibits were made a part of the record:

Board Exhibit 1: News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
Board Exhibit 2: Delaware State News Affidavit of Publication.

At the public hearing on January 14, 2025, Mr. Charles Robbins spoke publicly in favor of the amendments.

No written comments were submitted.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by testimony on the
proposed amendments to the Board's rules and regulations. There were no comments provided to the Board in writing.
The Board considered the public comments from Mr. Robbins in favor of amending the regulations.

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. § 1806(a)(2), the Board has the statutory authority to promulgate rules and regulations related to
requirements for continuing education. 24 Del.C. § 1806(a)(4) authorizes the Board to designate the standard
examinations required for licensing. And, having received only supportive comments concerning the proposed
amendments, the Board finds reason to amend the regulations as proposed and hereby takes action to do so.

The Board has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and has determined that any
assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation on the achievement of the State's greenhouse gas emission reduction

targets or on the State's resiliency to climate change is not practical in view of the nature of the proposed amendments.

Decision and Effective Date



The Board hereby adopts the changes to the rules and regulations as proposed, to be effective 10 days following
publication of this Order in the Register of Regulations. The new rules and regulations are attached.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 11th day of February 2025.

Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Examiners

/s/ Philip Sharp, President, Professional [Vacant], Professional Member

Member

/sl Harold Caswell, Professional Member  [Vacant], Professional Member
/sl Jonathan Cochran, Professional [Vacant], Public Member

Member

/sl Russell Yetter, Professional Member [Vacant], Public Member
/sl James Anderson, Public Member

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

1800 Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Examiners

1.0 General Provisions

1.1 Election of Officers. The Board will elect a President, Vice-President, and Secretary annually in May. In the
event of a resignation, termination or departure of ene 1 of the officers, a replacement shall be elected at the
next Board meeting or at a meeting called for that purpose.

1.2 Definitions. Words and terms defined in Title 24, Section 1802 of the Delaware Code are applicable to these
regulations. The following additional words and terms, shall have the following meaning, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

“Certificate of Good Standing” means a certified statement of the applicant's disciplinary and complaint record
as a license holder in another jurisdiction, which is sent directly from the other jurisdiction to the Board.

“Complete application” means the Division of Professional Regulation has received the application form, all
supporting documents (including verifications of disciplinary record), and all required fees.

"Full-Time Employee" for purposes of supervision means any employee working a minimum of 30 hours per
week, averaged over a period of 1 year, who regularly receives compensation from the entity providing
services and receives a W-2 form annually from the entity providing services.

11 DE Reg. 86 (07/01/07)
13 DE Reg. 1356 (04/01/10)

2.0 Plumbing Licensing Requirements
2.1 Pre-examination Requirements

211

Board approval is required before an applicant will be allowed to sit for the exam. To get Board approval,
an applicant must complete and return an application form to the Board's office, showing that the applicant
has 2 years of verified experience under the supervision of a licensed plumber after having received a
Journeyman’s Certificate in an apprenticeship program that meets or exceeds the Federal Bureau of
Apprenticeship and Training Standard. Alternatively, the applicant can show 7 years of verified experience
under the supervision of a licensed plumber if the applicant has successfully completed the series of state-
approved tests offered in the Delaware technical high schools or other apprenticeship school.

Supporting documentation. The applicant shall present a copy of the Journeyman certificate or the
applicant shall present proof of passing the series of state-approved tests offered in the Delaware
technical high schools or other apprenticeship school. Verification of the required experience shall be by
affidavit of the supervising licensed plumber on the form approved by the Board. If the applicant is unable
to obtain an affidavit from the supervising licensed plumber, the tax form W-2 or the affidavit of the
employer or officer of the employing company may be submitted as proof of experience at the discretion of
the Board.

Disciplinary record. An applicant must also certify to the Board that he—er—she the applicant has not
engaged in any of the acts that would be grounds for discipline of a licensee of the State of Delaware and
that ke-ershe the applicant does not have any disciplinary proceedings or unresolved complaints pending
against him-erher the applicant in any jurisdiction where he-ershe the applicant has previously been or
currently is licensed, or certified as a plumber. An applicant currently or previously licensed or certified in



another jurisdiction shall provide the Board with certified statements from all other such jurisdictions
verifying their disciplinary and complaint records.

Complete application. An application to sit for the examination is not considered complete until the Division
of Professional Regulation has received the application form, all supporting documents (including
verifications of disciplinary record) and all fees required by this section.

2.2 Licensure by Examination

221

222

The exam will be offered 4 times per year, once quarterly. No persen applicant shall be permitted to sit for
the exam until he-er-she that applicant has completed the pre-examination requirements of subsection 2.1
and received the Board's approval to take the exam.

Reexamination. Applicants who do not earn a passing score on the exam may retake it 2 additional times,
at the next regularly scheduled administrations, without further Board approval. An applicant who does not
pass the exam after 3 attempts must reapply to the Board for permission to retake the exam. Such
applicants may not reapply until 1 year has passed from the date he-ershe the applicant last took the
exam.

2.3 Licensure by Reciprocity. An applicant under this section must demonstrate that the standards for licensure of
the state through which the applicant seeks reciprocity are equivalent to those of this State. Applicants must
provide that state’s laws and regulations governing licensure to the Board.

11 DE Reg. 86 (07/01/07)

3.0 HVACR Licensure Requirements

3.1 Licensure by Examination. All applicants must submit complete applications. Only complete applications will
be considered by the Board. Successful applicants must:

3.1.1

3.1.2

Pass the Board-approved HVACR exam. Applicants must have prior approval from the Board to take the
exam. To get the Board's approval, an applicant must first meet all the requirements in regulations 3.1.2
through 3.1.5. The exam is offered 4 times per year, once quarterly. A score of 70% or greater is required
to pass the exam.

Document the required experience. The law contains different experience requirements for applicants with
a Journeyman's Certificate and those without a Journeyman's Certificate, as described below:

3.1.2.1 Journeyman's Certificate. Applicants that have a Journeyman's Certificate from an apprenticeship

program that meets or exceeds the Federal Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training Standard must
include a copy of the Certificate with their application. These applicants must also document
completion of 2 years of post-apprenticeship HVYACR experience under the direct supervision of a
master HVACR licensee, master HVACR restricted licensee, or an individual holding a similar level
of licensure in another state. Experience gained before receipt of the Journeyman's Certificate
does not qualify and will not be counted toward fulfillment of the 2-year requirement.

3.1.2.2 Ne-Jeurneyman's-Certifieate- Applicants without Journeyman's Certificate

3.1.2.2.1 Applicants who do not possess a Journeyman's Certificate must document completion of 7
years of HVACR experience under the direct supervision of a master HVACR licensee, master
HVACR restricted licensee, or an individual holding a similar level of licensure in another state.

3.1.2.2.2 Applicants without a Journeyman's Certificate must also pass the series of Board-approved
apprenticeship equivalency exams (known as the “Bypass Exams”) before they will be
approved to take the HVACR exam. Applicants must have prior approval from the Board to
take the exam. Applicants will receive approval after they meet all the requirements in
regutatiens subsections 3.1.2 through 3.1.5. Applicants who pass the Bypass Exams are
automatically approved to take the HVACR exam.

3.1.2.2.3 Applicants for a restricted license must present a passing score on those sections of the
Bypass Exams that the Board designates as applicable to the category of restriction.

3.1.2.3 Proper Documentation of Experience. Documentation of the required experience shall be by

affidavit of the applicant's supervisor. Applicants unable to obtain an affidavit from their supervisor
may submit tax W-2 tax forms or affidavits of the employers or officer of their employing companies
as alternative proof of experience. Alternative proof of experience is acceptable at the discretion of
the Board. All affidavits must be on the affidavit form approved by the Board and available through
the Board's office.

Provide a copy of their CFC Card. Document certification at the appropriate level for handling
chlorofluorocarbons (COUGH’s) by a testing organization approved by the Environmental Protection
Agency.

Truthfully attest in the affirmative that they:



3.1.4.1 Have not received any administrative penalties regarding their provision of HYACR or HVACR
restricted services;

3.14.2 Do not have any disciplinary proceedings or unresolved complaints pending against them in any
jurisdiction where they have previously been or are currently authorized to provide HVACR or
HVACR restricted services;

3.14.3 Do not have an impairment related to drug or alcohol use that would limit their ability to provide
HVACR or HVACR restricted services in a manner that is not detrimental to the health, safety, or
welfare of the public; and

3144 Do not have a criminal conviction, or any pending criminal charges, for any crime listed in or
covered by Beardregulation Section 8.0 of this regulation.

3.1.5 Provide Certificates of Good Standing. Applicants who have ever been licensed or certified by another
jurisdiction (another state, the District of Columbia, or a U.S. territory) must contact the other jurisdiction
and request a certified statement of the applicant's disciplinary and complaint record. All certified
statements must be sent from other jurisdictions directly to the Board.

3.1.6 Reexamination. Applicants who do not pass the exam may retake it at the next 2 regularly scheduled
administrations without further Board approval. An applicant who does not pass the exam after these 3
attempts may reapply for licensure but not until 1 year after the date of the third exam.

3.2 Licensure by Reciprocity. An applicant for licensure by reciprocity must demonstrate that the standards for
licensure of the state through which the applicant seeks reciprocity are equivalent to those of this State.
Applicants must provide that state's HVACR licensure or certification laws and regulations to the Board.

11 DE Reg. 86 (07/01/07)

4.0 Code Adoption
The Board hereby adopts the 2015 International Mechanical Code (IMC) and the 2015 International Fuel Gas
Code (IFC), as amended. The Board reserves the right to modify both codes, by further rulemaking, as it
deems appropriate.
11 DE Reg. 86 (07/01/07)
18 DE Reg. 994 (06/01/15)

5.0 Continuing Education and Renewal Audits
51 Continuing education (CE) is required of all licensees and shall be completed by Jure-36-efary-yearin-which

alieense-isto-berenewed-starting-Oeteber-34-2024 October 31 of even-numbered years starting in 2026.
Extra eentinuing-edueation CE hours do not carry over to the next licensing period. Licensees will only get CE

credit for their first attendance of CE courses during each licensing period. Licensees may retake a CE course
in the same licensing period but will not receive additional CE credit.

5.2 Courses must be approved by the Board ir-erder to qualify as CE. Approved courses appear on the website of
the D|V|3|on of Professmnal Regulatlon at https //www dpr deIaware gov l:reeasees—may—alse—eeﬁaet—t-he

5.2.1 Courses shall be designed to maintain and enhance the knowledge and skills of licensees related to
providing plumbing or HVACR services.

5.2.2 Sponsors or licensees can obtain Board approval of courses at any time by completing a form approved by
the Board and including a course outline with the number of classroom hours showing breakdown of time
allotted for each part of course content, the curriculum vitae or resume of the instructor and the appropriate
fee set by the Division. The completed application will be presented for review at the next regularly
scheduled Board meeting.

5.3 Licensees shall complete 5 hours of approved CE during each renewal period.
5.3.1  All licensees shall complete:
5.31.1 3 hours in Code changes; and
53.1.2 1 hour in safety;
5.3.2 Plumbing licensees shall complete 1 hour in cross connections and back flow;
5.3.3 HVACR licensees shall complete 1 hour in Energy Code.
5.3.4 Dual Licensees

5.3.4.1 Dual licensees (Plumbing and HVACR) shall complete the—required 6 total hours as set forth in
subsections 5.3.1 through 5.3.3.



https://www.dpr.delaware.gov
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53472 Dual licensees shall alternate the code topic of their CE required by subsection 5.3.1.1 every other
renewal period between Plumbing and HVACR.

5.3.5 Exceptions to the requirements in subsections 5.3.1 through 5.3.4 are:

5.3.5.1 A person licensed less than 1 year does not need to complete CE at the first renewal;
5.3.5.2 A person licensed 1 year but less than 2 years must submit 3 CE hours at the first renewal.

The Board may consider a waiver of CE requirements or acceptance of partial fulfilment based on the Board's
review of a written request with supporting documentation of hardship. Requests will only be considered if
made prior to the licensee's renewal deadline.

As a condition of renewal, licensees must attest to completion of the CE required. Attestation shall be
completed electronically. Licensees selected for random audit will be required to supplement their attestations
with documentation of the required CE attendance.

Compliance Audits

5.6.1 Beginning with license renewals in 2026, the Board will randomly audit 5% of license renewal applications

to ensure their accuracy. Licensees selected for random audit will be notified of that selection within 60
days after the renewal deadline.

5.6.2 In addition, 100% of licensees who renew late will be audited for compliance with CE. They will be notified

of their audit within 60 days of their renewal.

[OV]

6. Licensees selected for audit must then submit the documentation requested by the date indicated on the

audit notice.

11 DE Reg. 86 (07/01/07)
27 DE Reg. 347 (11/01/23)

6.0

Reserved

11 DE Reg. 86 (07/01/07)

7.0
7.1

7.2

7.3

74

7.5

Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professionals

A written report, signed by a complainant, alleging that a licensee may be chemically dependent or impaired is
received by the chairperson of the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify the Director of
Professional Regulation or histher the Director's designate of the report. If the Director of Professional
Regulation receives the report, hefshe the Director shall immediately notify the chairperson of the regulatory
Board, or that chairperson's designate or designates.

The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and inform himther the individual in writing of the report,
provide the individual written information describing the Voluntary Treatment Option, and give himther the
individual the opportunity to enter the Voluntary Treatment Option.

In order for the individual to participate in the Voluntary Treatment Option, kefshe the individual shall agree to
submit to a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a specified laboratory or health care facility.
This initial evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days following notification to the professional by the
participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's desighate{s} designate.

A regulated professional with chemical dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or alcohol may
enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice the
participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or histker the Director's designate may, in consultation with the treating professional,
deem necessary, only if such action will not endanger the public health, welfare or safety, and the regulated
professional enters into an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or histher the Director's
designate and the chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and complies with all terms of that agreement.
Treatment programs may be operated by professional Committees and Associations or other similar
professional groups with the approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the chairperson of the
participating Board.

Failure to cooperate fully with the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson’s designate or designates
or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or histher the Director's designate in regard to the
Voluntary Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for evaluations and screens may disqualify the
regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and the participating Board
chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be activated an immediate
investigation and institution of disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in subsection 7.8.



8.0

7.6

The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

7.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a treatment program approved by the participating Board. Board

approval shall not require that the regulated professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies to assure an unbiased assessment of the
regulated professional's progress.

7.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the approved treatment program to report on the progress of the

regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating Board or to that chairperson's designate or
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or hkisfher the Director's designate
at such intervals as required by the chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's designate
or designates or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or histher the Director's designate,
and such person making such report will not be liable when such reports are made in good faith and
without malice.

7.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in accordance with applicable law, to the release of any treatment

information from anyone within the approved treatment program.

7.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional to be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated

with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment pregram{s) program. In addition, the Division of
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated professional to cover administrative
costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed under this
subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses incurred by the Division of Professional
Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board in addition to the administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option.

7.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment program

shall be reported to the participating Board's chairperson or histher the chairperson's designate or
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or hkist-her the Director’s designate
by the treating professional who shall be immune from any liability for such reporting made in good faith
and without malice.

7.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice as

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.10

7.11

7.12

outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment Option.

The regulated professional's records of participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not reflect
disciplinary action and shall not be considered public records open to public inspection. However, the
participating Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary sanction in any future matter in which
the regulated professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an issue.

The participating Board's chairperson, histher the chairperson's designate or desigrates designates, or the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or hkistker the Director's designate may, in consultation with
the treating professional at any time during the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically
dependent or impaired professional if such action is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.

If practice is restricted, the regulated professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.

Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an immediate investigation and
disciplinary proceedings as appropriate.

Any person who reports pursuant to this section in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such reports, and shallthave—histher that person’s
confidentiality shall be protected if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

Any The confidentiality of any regulated professional who complies with all of the terms and completes the
Voluntary Treatment Option shall kave—histher—eonfidentiality be protected unless otherwise specified in a
participating Board's rules and regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and specify those to whom such information may be
disclosed.

6 DE Reg. 861 (01/01/03)

Crimes substantially related to plumbing services.



Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or conceal or
of the solicitation to commit any of the following crimes, is deemed to be a crime substantially related to
plumbing services or in the State of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

8.1.1 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §604

8.1.2 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §612

8.1.3 Assaultin the first degree. 11 Del.C. §613

8.1.4 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632

8.1.5 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §633
8.1.6  Murder by abuse or neglect in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §634
8.1.7  Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §635

8.1.8  Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636

8.1.9  Unlawful sexual contact in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §768
8.1.10 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §769
8.1.11 Rape in the fourth degree. 11 Del.C. §770

8.1.12 Rape in the third degree. 11 Del.C. §771

8.1.13 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §772

8.1.14 Rape in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §773

8.1.15 Sexual extortion. 11 Del.C. §776

8.1.16 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 Del.C. §778

8.1.17 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §783

8.1.18 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §783A

8.1.19 Arson in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §802

8.1.20 Arson in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §803

8.1.21 Criminal mischief. 11 Del.C. §811

8.1.22 Burglary in the third degree. 11 Del.C. §824

8.1.23 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §825

8.1.24 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §826

8.1.25 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §831

8.1.26 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §832

8.1.27 Theft; lost or mislaid property; mistaken delivery. 11 Del.C. §842
8.1.28 Theft; false pretense. 11 Del.C. §843

8.1.29 Theft, false promise. 11 Del.C. §844

8.1.30 Theft of services. 11 Del.C. §845

8.1.31 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846

8.1.32 Identity theft. 11 Del.C. §854

8.1.33 Forgery. 11 Del.C. §861

8.1.34 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C. §871

8.1.35 Unlawful use of credit card. 11 Del.C. §903

8.1.36 Renderer and scanning devices. 11 Del.C. §903A

8.1.37 Insurance fraud. 11 Del.C. §913

8.1.38 Home improvement fraud. 11 Del.C. §916

8.1.39 New home construction fraud. 11 Del.C. §917

8.1.40 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. §1100

8.1.41 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C. §1108

8.1.42 Sexual solicitation of a child. 11 Del.C. §1112A

8.1.43 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §1222

8.1.44 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §1223

8.1.45 Aggravated harassment. 11 Del.C. §1312

8.1.46 Possession of a deadly weapon during commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447
8.1.47 Possession of a firearm during commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447A
8.1.48 Breaking and entering, etc., to place or remove equipment. 11 Del.C. §2410



8.2 Crimes substantially related to plumbing services shall be deemed to include any crimes under any federal law,
state law, or valid town, city or county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes identified in this
rule.

6 DE Reg. 861 (01/01/03)
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